Migration Politics Fellowship winners 2023

We are proud to announce the winners of our 2023 Migration Politics Residential Fellowships.

In May we welcome

  • Abosede Babatunde (University of Ilorin, Nigeria) “Petro-politics, Gender Violence and Human Trafficking in Nigeria’s Niger Delta”
  • Saphia Fleury (University of Hull, UK) “Political or environmental refugees? Re-examining the flight of the Vietnamese boat people”
  • Lamis Abdelaaty (Syracuse University, US) “The Emissary Speaks: Political Agency in Refugee-UNHCR Correspondence”

In Autumn we welcome

  • Alethia Fernández de la Reguera (National Autonomous University of Mexico) “Emotional regimes and immigration border management in Mexico: on how emotions trigger legal violence”
  • Nadia Khrouz (International University of Rabat, Morocco) “Binational marriages and the right to family unity in Morocco: between norms and practices.”
  • Kossigari Djolar (Université de Kara, Togo & Univeristé Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, France) “European migration policy and the reconfiguration of Togolese borders: the free movement of people and goods at stake”

The editors thank our UvA funders for the generous support: ACES, the Institute for Migration and Ethnic Studies and the Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research (AiSSR).

%d bloggers like this: